The Mouthy Mermaid talks About Owning Your Choices?????

Good Morning Dear Readers,

As usual today I was looking for writing inspiration and not really finding much in me so I went to my Louise Hay book, Everyday Positive Thinking, by Louise Hay and Friends and found something that sounded like a good little thought today:  Here we go……

 

You’ve made some bad choices, you’ve made some good choices, and you’ve made some so-so choices.  Most important, they’re yours—–All of them.

-Anne Wilson Schaef

Well, I think we have all done that, I know I have.  The most important thing I have learned is OWNING YOUR CHOICE, NO EXCUSES!!!!!!  I know the bad choices that I have made have been all on me……

Reasons:

  • Being uneducated in the choice
  • Not listening to my gut feeling, but in the old days I didn’t even understand that one.
  • Not processing the choice.
  • Not weighing all the good, bad and ugly.
  • Just doing it.
  • No boundaries.

I think these were all they reason’s years ago I got involved with a domestic abuser.  I didn’t process or look into any thing until it was too late, he had me hook, line and sinker.  He looked to good to be true and he saw me coming.

It took me quite a long time in therapy at our local domestic abuse center to understand this.  And the most important thing I had to learn was how to set boundaries with people.  Not as easy as it sounds, especially if you are a born people pleaser.  The the old days JUST SAY NO WAS NOT A CONCEPT FOR ME.  NOW, I JUST SAY NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Also, after spending a year at Emerge Center for Domestic Abuse, guess what?  My radar got very good.  Now I can pick out an Emotional Vampire from across the city.  Some say paranoid and not trusting.  I say, that’s OK.

I have also learned a very important lesson:  If someone shows you who they are BELIEVE THEM.   Because, they are not BSing you.  It will save you pain and heartache.  .I used to have this really religious friend and she would say “If the devil is knocking at your door don’t let him in.”  I used to think that was very funny and not being a religious person I really thought it was funny.  But she is so right.  I do have to be careful who I let into my circle and use all the skills I have learned to protect myself.

So, on this happy Monday, I am still in a reclusive, fill myself up mode.  That’s OK, now I am able to accept that and now I understand how to be quiet.  I love quiet.

Sending Love to all my Readers,

Enjoy your day.  I am still in the construction mode here and we will be done this week.

Special love to Robert and Renee and Holly Marie Hale.  You all keep me going.

Thelma, The Mouthy Mermaid

Make a good choice today even if it’s to stay in bed or take a nap.  Take care of you.

 

And the pool construction crew just got here.  Thank you God.

Author: themouthymermaid

In the Mouthy Mermaid all talk is REAL

7 thoughts on “The Mouthy Mermaid talks About Owning Your Choices?????”

  1. One of the consistent features of Vampire (the emotional ones or the other kind) stories is that the vampire cannot go in where he-she-it is not invited. I think maybe this belongs under “Not processing the choice.”, – Not seeing it as a choice, but as inevitable or fated as in “soul mates”, “the one”, or “meant to be.” Hmmm – why does this sort of discussion tend to center on romantic relationships? Probably because we all have made at least one bad choice in that area, and all seen others do it. We don’t seem to resist owning our choices about school or jobs or restaurants nearly as much as we do those about sex and relationships.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

