The Mouthy Mermaid Says…..Trust Your GUT, It’s a FREEING Experience

Good Morning Dear Readers,

This morning I want to write about an experience that has taking me so very long to learn……TRUST YOUR GUT…….

In my world, trusting your GUT is something that took me many years to learn and I’m not sure why, but believe me NOW I GET IT…….

If you, in dealing with any situation, get this little bump in the pit of your stomach, PAY ATTENTION BECAUSE IT IS USUALLY ABOUT SOMETHING NOT RIGHT!!!!!!!!!

This weekend, a friend asked me to help her with a appearingly simple task:  Well, guess what it was a huge MESS, with me dealing with a very hostile tenant of hers in her rental house. I said,  “Ok and left.”  I trusted my gut, the guy was totally crazy and screaming and swearing at me,  she ended up calling the cops to get him out of her house.  Trusting my GUT felt great and I will never put myself in a dangerous situation.  JUST SAY NO, and I felt bad I was unable to help my friend.  

NO

So, my next TRUST MY GUT EXPERIENCE IS HAPPENING RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!!

Mr’s entire family and some friends are coming in October for a surprise for his 60th birthday.  So, as we all talked we decided that one of those VRBO vacation homes would be a good option for them as I recently had a great experience with VRBO.  https://www.vrbo.com/

So, I have been trying to get a hold of this lady who owns the home they are interested in and we have been playing the phone tag game (they like the house because of the location and it will sleep 13 people)  And the lady has been a huge pain in the ass to communicate with.

Well, last night at 6:30 pm, she finally called me and SHE WAS DRUNK AS A SKUNK.  REALLY?????  I don’t feel really good about dealing with this lady but I am going to meet her and look at the house on Friday.  Hmmmmm.

And, as I have just written all of this, I just had a big insight, Why me????? Why are people asking me to do these things for them?  Is it because I am a nice person, is it because I can make time, is it because I am a crazy sucker?  Hmmmm, lots of food for thought on that one.

Dear Readers, how do you handle TRUSTING YOUR GUT AND DID IT TAKE YOU A LONG TIME TO GET IT?  PLEASE SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCE WITH ME.

Lot’s going on.  Still blowing up the pool, the pool people just came, we have so much dust in this house we can hardly breathe but we are on the home stretch.

My BFF

Angel Girl is here and we had a lovely visit yesterday and about a 3 hour sushi lunch and my little elderly lady went to assisted living on Monday and that was a huge DRAMA.

Mr and I continue to roll on and life is good.  Life is as good as you make it, right??????

Please share  your GUT experiences with us.  How do you TRUST YOUR GUT?????

Sending lots of love,

Thelma, The Mouthy Mermaid

Author: themouthymermaid

In the Mouthy Mermaid all talk is REAL

8 thoughts on “The Mouthy Mermaid Says…..Trust Your GUT, It’s a FREEING Experience”

  1. I have always trusted my gut and it has served me well…one of the reasons I left my husband so many years ago…good decision…and so many other times in my life. I think you are too easily sucked in….your kindness is wonderful but there is a point where you need to just say NO!! And I agree you should listen to your gut..you just said the woman was drunk and you don’t feel good about meeting her…and yet you are. Listen to those gut feelings they don’t mislead you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I learned to trust my gut as a therapist, especially in crisis work, long before I learned it in my private life. Part of the difference is that in the professional situation, the gut feeling is just a hunch and you then have to really look for what it is you are responding to and follow up.

    As for those requests for you to do things for people, there is this favorite bit of rant:
    “Do not confuse “duty” with what other people expect of you; they are utterly different. Duty is a debt you owe yourself to fulfill obligations you have assumed voluntarily. Paying that debt can entail anything from years of patient work to instant willingness to die. Difficult it may be, but the reward is self-respect. But there is no reward at all for doing what other people expect of you, and to do so is not merely difficult, but impossible. It is easier to deal with a footpad than it is with the leech who wants “just a few minutes of you time, please – this won’t take long.” Time is your total capital, and the minutes of your life are painfully few. If you allow yourself to fall into the vice of agreeing to such requests, they quickly snowball to the point where these parasites will use up 100 percent of your time – and squawk for more! Learn to say No – and be rude about it when necessary. Otherwise you will not have time to carry out your duty, or to do your own work, and certainly no time for life and happiness. The termites will nibble away your life and leave none of it for you. (This rule does not mean that you must not do a favor for a friend, or even a stranger. But let the choice be yours. Don’t do it because it is “expected” of you.)”

    from: The Notebooks of Lazarus Long, by Robert A. Heinlein

    Like

  3. I also have a mantra of “follow peace”. If for some reason, I don’t have peace about a situation then I tend not to do it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

